Post Reply  Post Thread 

bunch of ?'s
bart williams
Junior Rockhound

Group: Registered
bunch of ?'s

New to Site and this is my first forum.

I'm a environmental field geologist with 15 yrs of exp. The environmental field has dried up in the midwest. I've been around rigs all those years, but have never been deeper than 350'bgs. I'm starting to get bored anyways.

I have alot of questions about entering into the oil and gas fields.

The big ones are can you make a decent living?

How do you travel between rigs?

Is it better to work for a mudlogging company or a Oil company?

My skill set is better suited away from the office. Do most loggers feel the same?

07-17-2009 11:55 PM
Send the author an email Send the author a private message Find all posts by this author Quote this message in a reply
TexasLogger
Junior Rockhound

RE: bunch of ?'s

Hey Bart

just to answer a few of your questions,

1. You can make a decent living mudlogging, but that all depends on how much you are making now.

2. I get to drive my car back and forth from jobs. I usually work about 10-15 days straight, then get like 7-9 days off.

3. I think that it would be better working for yourself.

4. I never want to work in an office.

09-02-2009 01:50 AM
Send the author an email Send the author a private message Find all posts by this author Quote this message in a reply
Bolen Consulting
Senior Rockhound

I can set you up with some names to call if you are wanting to train and are willing to move to Texas. Your geology degree will take you a long way.

As for your questions:

1. Yes you can make a decent living, if you find the right clients you can make a very good living. Before the crash I was pulling down 800 a day covering two rigs in West Texas. (400/day per rig)

2. For land rigs, most mudloggers live on site or in a hotel near by. Some have Travel Trailers and set them up at the nearest RV park so they have their own place to go after their shift.