Post Reply  Post Thread 

Hello loggers
Joseph77840
Junior Rockhound

Group: Registered
Hello loggers

My name is Joe. And Ive been logging for about four years. I started out working in Wyoming with GeoSearch. Working coal bed methane wells. And if you don't know those are some quick wells. Over in about 3,500'. It was a great experience though! The country was such a change from Texas. I didnt get there untill the wintery months of August!!! But everyone a GeoSearch was happy to teach me the ropes. After about six months they took me off of my sample catching dutys and put me on as night logger on a core job around Casper, I belive. I haven't worked a core job since, but what an experience. I loved it. Working shoulder to shoulder with a geologist from Anadarko. That was a huge chance to learn about formation changes and evaluation. Not to mention getting in tight with a geologist. But at that time I didn't really know how important that was. Then after a few more jobs around that beutifull country side I was told that the office in Texas was needing hands with experience. And since that is where im from I thought that it would be a good idea if I go and work some jobs a little closer to home. When I started in Texas is was like completely starting over for me. Not only was the geneology diffrent but the equiptment and safty reqirements too. So I stuck with it for a couple more months, untill I found out what they were paying roughnecks in Texas. And thats when I go dollar signs in my eyes. It wasn't long before I started work with Nicklos Drilling as a floorhand. It was a small, double, work horse of a rig. Thats where I learned about rig mechanics. I started with a pretty layed back crew. At this time there was a new driller who was related to a crew on the other side. The whole crew! He was working with them before he was moved up to a drillers position. Well my father was the one who helped push for me to get the job with this company. Yes, I know! Im a second